Firearms Transfers





Paperwork. Firearm transfers for all guns will take place at GiGi’s Gunshop at 1805 Western Shores Blvd., Port Republic, MD, 20676, (approximately 4 miles North of Chesapeake Auction House off MD 765, phone 410-495-8444 or email . If calling or emailing please provide contact information name/phone/email so we may respond to your queries. Successful bidders must have their paid receipt and bring it to the Shop the day after the auction, or within 30 days of the auction to complete the appropriate paperwork for transfer. No transfers will occur on the day of the auction. First day for transfers is Monday following the Auction date (Sunday). Appointments are required to pick up long guns and handguns and may be scheduled at the time of the auction. Appointment times are first come first served. This is being initiated to better serve the buyers and to help ease the flow of successful bidders in completing their paperwork. GiGi’s Gunshop Hours of Operation are as follows:

Day Shop Hours Transfers Regulated Firearm Transfer Hours (MDSP) Long Gun Firearm Transfer Hours (FBI-NICS)
Monday 0900 – 5 PM Yes 0900 – 5PM 0900 – 5 PM
Tuesday 0900 – 5 PM Yes 0900 – 5PM 0900 – 5 PM
Wednesday 0900 – 5 PM Yes 0900 – 5PM 0900 – 5 PM
Thursday 0900 – 5 PM Yes 0900 – 5PM 0900 – 5 PM
Friday 0900 – 5 PM Yes 0900 – 5PM 0900 – 5 PM
Saturday By Appointment By Appointment Only By Appointment Only By Appointment Only
Sunday By Appointment By Appointment Only By Appointment Only By Appointment Only


Long Guns (non-regulated) may be claimed at the Shop location the day following auction conclusion in Port Republic, MD upon completion of the Federal Form ATF4473 and a successful FBI-NICS instant Background Check. Purchase of Regulated Firearms (handguns) require a Handgun Qualification License (unless Active duty or retired Military, Law Enforcement, or Railroad Police, see details at ) and complete forms MS77R 1, 2, &3, in addition to the Federal ATF 4473. Regulated Firearms may be claimed following the MDSP Mandatory 7 day waiting period after the authorities receive the application paperwork and a successful screening determination by the MD State Police (Regulated firearms are eligible for 8th day release with HQL). Fees are paid prior to filling out any paperwork, cash is preferred, checks accepted, No Credit or Debit cards are accepted. No refunds will be given to individuals who fail to pass the background checks. We can provide information to challenge the checks if requested, but the buyer will be subject to another transfer fee for re-checks, in addition to any MDSP/mailing fees. All paperwork for transfers must be completed at GiGi’s Gunshop, no exceptions. Federal Firearm Licensees (Class 01, 03) will be allowed to take possession of purchased firearms without background checks with a copy of their FFL license, or any Buyer if the firearm qualifies as an antique firearm. Maryland does not recognize C&R licenses for handguns for in-state residents. Out of State Buyers must provide a FFL transfer POC within 10 days of the auction and will be responsible for mailing and transfer fees prior to release of the firearm. Shipping costs are estimated to be $25 per handgun, and $30 per long gun. PLEASE NOTE: All ATF and Maryland Firearms Regulations apply, without exception!

Fees. Regulated firearms, (handguns and assault rifles) to Maryland residents and non-regulated Long gun fees are detailed in the table below. All fees must be paid at the time of the application, prior to submission. In the event the buyer fails to pass a background check, any paid fees are forfeit. Buyers of multiple handguns must have a MDSP Maryland Designated Collector’s Status letter (different than a Class 03 C&R license). Buyers who have not purchased a regulated firearm in the previous 30 days may purchase two without being a designated collector. Non FFL licensed out-of-state buyers must receive regulated firearms at a licensed FFL dealer in their state, shipping charges will be added to transfer fee, and receiving FFL must be provided to GiGis’ Gunshop (email within 10 days of the close of the auction. Adjacent – Out of State buyers may obtain possession of non-regulated long guns after completion of Federal ATF4473 and NICS approval.

Buyers who leave firearms in the possession of GiGi’s Gunshop in excess of 30 days following processed NICS/MDSP background checks will be required to pay for reapplication fees of $25 and $50 respectively. Firearms left in the Possession of GiGi’s Gunshop in excess of 60 days after notification or those not claimed will become the property of GiGi’s Gunshop.

Maryland Residents
Type Firearm Transfer Fee Mailing MDSP Total Fee
Long gun – non regulated $25 N/A N/A $25
Each Additional $5 each N/A N/A As applicable
Regulated* (Handgun) $40 5 $10 $55
Each Additional Regulated $10 $10 As applicable
New handgun Cartridge casing $40 Collection fee $10 N/A $50

Provides MDSP collected cartridge casing

Out of State Residents
Regulated (handgun) $40 $35 N/A $75
Regulated* (Assault weapon) $35 $40 N/A $75
Each Additional Regulated $10 (as Applicable) N/A $10 plus additional shipping costs TBD
Long Gun $25 N/A $25
Each Additional $5 each N/A N/A As applicable
Long Gun (out of State – mailed) $25 $40 N/A $65
Each Additional $5 each (As applicable) N/A As applicable

*Formerly defined Assault Weapons can no longer be transferred legally in Maryland

First Day of transfer is the first weekday after Auction on Monday, there will be no transfers on the day of the auction!

GiGi’s Gunshop will perform safety inspections of firearms for additional cost per our Shop’s price schedule.

UPDATE:   Maryland Handgun Qualification License (from MDSP Website)

A person may not purchase, rent, or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013 unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police or qualify for exemption status.

Exceptions to possession of the HQL License 

  1. A Licensed Firearms Manufacturer.
  2. Active law enforcement officer or a person retired in good standing from a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State, or a local law enforcement agency of the State.
  3. Active or retired member of the United States Armed Forces or National Guard and possesses a valid military identification card.
  4. A person purchasing, renting or receiving an antique, curio or relic as defined in federal law.
  5. Maryland licensed firearms dealers.


Required to have the HQL, but exempt from the training component 

  1. Someone who completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Secretary of the Department of Maryland State Police.
  2. Has completed a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms as prescribed under Natural Resources Article, §10-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. Application for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Hunter Safety Course Certificate can be obtained from here and may be used in lieu of Qualified Handgun Instruction.
  3. Is currently a qualified handgun instructor.
  4. Is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or National Guard.
  5. Is an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by MSP.
  6. Lawfully owns a regulated firearm.  If you already own a handgun or assault weapon prior to October 1, 2013, you do not have to complete the training to apply for the Handgun Qualification License.
GiGi’s Gunshop offers MD HQL license training –

Cost is $150 (includes $10 range/firearm/ammunition fee).

Please call the shop to schedule training at 410-495-8444.

Group Discounts available for three or more individuals.


guns will be released on the auction day unless the recipient is a licensed firearms dealer or has a Curio & Relic license. Maryland does not recognize C&R licenses for handguns for in-state residents. It is not unusual to wait 14 days for the approval process.

Buyers of multiple handguns must have a MSP Maryland Designated Collector’ s Status Letter’ .different than a C&R. Buyers, who have not purchased a regulated firearm in the past 30 days, may purchase up to two regulated firearms without being a designated collector. Non FFL out-of-state buyers must receive their purchase of regulated firearms at the premises of a licensed FFL dealer in their state. Additional shipping charges will apply. Maryland does not recognize resident C&R licenses on regulated firearms.


Following the auction, buyers will pay Chesapeake Auction for their purchase. A 13% buyer’ s premium and sales tax will be added. A 3% discount will be offered for cash or ‘ good’ checks. Proof of tax-exempt status required.  Cash, check, Master Charge, Visa, and Discover cards accepted.

Do Not Bid on Guns if

You don’ t have any money, are a convicted felon, are under a restraining order, are an illegal alien, have a dishonorable discharge, have escaped from a mental institution, are under indictment, are under the influence of something illegal, are currently stalking someone, are a terrorist, drug dealer, dog-hater, town drunk, you don’ t like John Wayne or Clint Eastwood, have a juvenile record as long as Route 4,  you missed 5th grade because you were in rehab, or think extraterrestrial beings speak to you through your TV set.

Unless you are a law enforcement officer, military veteran, or have a Maryland concealed carry permit, the state requires gun buyers to take a Firearms Safety Course.  You can do this online, free of charge, prior to the auction, at

Please ask questions before the auction. We will answer any gun paperwork questions.

Before You Pull the Trigger

We have not fired any of these guns.  They came to us from various consignors and estates.  Some are near new; others have been through the rigors of war and bad marriages.  All guns and accessories are sold as-is with no returns and no guarantees they will stop a marauding groundhog if one attacks you while weeding the garden.   We recommend having a gunsmith check them out (guns, not groundhogs).